Status Quo logo


That was the Quo month that was ... November 2010



9th - Quo concert at Cliffs Pavilion, Southend

Quo kicked off the brand new "Quid Pro Quo" tour on November 9th at the Cliffs Pavilion in Southend. Supported by The Crave, the band pulled out a few surprises - "Break The Rules" made a welcome return, the "Mystery Song" medley replaced the "Proposin'" medley and included "Spinning Wheel Blues" for the first time, and the ever-popular "Paper Plane" was also back in. The biggest surprise of all, though, was the first ever inclusion of the ballad "For You" from the 'Rockin' All Over The World' album. The full set list follows.

Revisit the November 2010 event list  

10th - Quo concert at Brentwood Centre

The Quid Pro Quo tour marked its second night with a gig at the Brentwood Centre. Once again ably supported by The Crave, Quo kept most of the new set from the previous gig in Southend but switched "Rain" and the "Mystery Song" medley around and also abandoned "Junior's Wailing" as the first song of the encore in favour of crowd-pleaser "Don't Waste My Time". Some excellent photos of the band in action in Brentwood can be seen here and they show off the amazing new light show too!

Revisit the November 2010 event list  

13th - Quo concert at New Theatre, Oxford

The Quid Pro Quo tour rolled into Oxford on November 13th... and it was lucky for some! By all accounts the band and crowd were in amazing form at this gig and some superb shots of the band in action can be seen here.

Revisit the November 2010 event list  

15th - Quo concert at Fairfield Halls, Croydon

Quo played a well-attended show at Croydon's famous Fairfield Halls on November 15th and some great shots of the band enjoying themselves on stage can be found here.

Revisit the November 2010 event list  

16th - Quo concert at Regent Theatre, Ipswich

Ipswich played host to Quo on November 16th with a show at the Regent Theatre. The venue must have been a photographer's delight, as there are great shots of the band here, here and here (the latter also including an interesting blog post).

Revisit the November 2010 event list  

17th - Quo appearance at the Prince's Trust Rock Gala 2010, Royal Albert Hall, London

Quo appeared with a myriad pop & music stars at the Prince's Trust Rock Gala 2010, held at the Royal Albert Hall on November 17th. Quo opened the show with "Rockin' All Over The World" and then played "Whatever You Want" to the packed house which included the Prince of Wales and the Duchess of Cornwall in its audience. Rick told the BBC: "To me it felt like a little Live Aid tonight with Queen and Phil and Midge here, and us opening with Rockin' All Over the World."

The Prince's Trust all star house band was led by Midge Ure, with Mark King on bass, Mark Brzezicki on drums and Jamie Callum on piano. Hosted by Dame Edna Everage, a series of stellar performers took turns to front the band including Alison Moyet and Phil Collins, before Mike and the Mechanics brought the first half of the show to a close. In the second half Jools Holland welcomed Sir Tom Jones and Paloma Faith and Eric Clapton showed why is is hailed as one of the world's greatest guitarists.

Brian May and Roger Taylor from Queen brought the show to a close with an amazing performance from Keane's Tom Chaplain. The whole line up sang We Will Rock You as a finale (although Quo were notably missing).

Some excellent fan photos of Quo and the other acts can be seen here while the event's official photo page has some excellent quality shots here.

Revisit the November 2010 event list  

19th - Quo article in the Preston & Leyland Citizen newspaper (UK)

The following article appeared in the Preston & Leyland Citizen newspaper on November 19th and includes the first hint that the mammoth pre-Christmas tours may be coming to an end in the near future.

"STATUS Quo are in full swing of their annual UK tour, but make the most of it as this might be the last of its kind.

“This could be our last year of doing the theatres.” Singer and guitarist Francis Rossi revealed.

“It’s killing us, so we may have to concentrate on the arenas in future.”

Status Quo, with the dual guitars of 61-year-old Francis and Rick Parfitt, 62, have been touring relentlessly since last March (with a short break in May as Francis embarked on his first ever solo tour).

And that has been pretty much the case for the past four decades.

The mighty Quo have been having hits since 1968 with the psychadelic ‘Pictures Of Matchstick Men’ and were almost ever-present in the charts throughout the seventies and eighties with hits like ‘Caroline’, ‘Rain’, ‘Whatever You Want’, ‘Down Down’ (their only chart-topper) and the anthemic ‘Rocking All Over The World’ with which they kicked off the Live Aid concert in 1985.

They charted again recently with a re-recording (with altered lyrics) of their number two hit from 1986 ‘In The Army Now’.

The proceeds from the songs went to the Help For Heroes charity.

“We saw all these guys coming home with bits missing and not getting the right rehabilitation; Rick (Parfitt) and I spoke to our manager as we wanted to do something to help and we ended up doing the single,” explained Francis.

“To be honest,” he said ruefully, “I was a little disappointed that it didn’t do better, but Britain might be all charitied out at the moment.”

“It seems that people are quick to encourage the guys to go out there and fight, but they look away when they return with their injuries.”

Also in the shops is ‘Status Quo at the BBC’.

The Beeb have trawled through their archives and have released everything that’s survived of all the sessions and concerts that the Quo did for the BBC – harking back to when they were still called The Spectres in 1966.

There are three versions of the collection: a two CD set, a four CD box set, and for the true aficionado, the complete set which is seven CDs and a DVD.

But the band are most excited about their homecoming tour than anything else.

But there’s a bit of trepidation there.

“We’re all worried ‘cos someone in the band always gets ill when we tour Britain.”

“It’s strange,” he continued, “but no one gets ill when we’re abroad.”

And fans will be happy to know that the band have no intention of altering the set much.

"There’ll be some slight changes, but we never usually change it much.

"We may do a different medley – perhaps the ‘Mystery Song’ one, and Rick might be doing ‘For You’”.

Quo have been named music’s hardest working band for two years running, and Francis told me the reason that they keep up their punishing schedule.

“For a start, we don’t like rehearsals, it’s like playing to a brick wall.”

“So we keep going; the longest break we have is coming up in January, although I’ll be out in February.”

“Actually, we’re insecure little show-offs and we have to keep going because we’re of that generation where we think that if we don’t work we don’t get any money in.”

“Also, it’s an affirmation of our success. Every night we go out to packed halls and that is the affirmation we need.”

After the tour and their traditional break, there may be a chance of a new album.

“We were supposed top be doing something last September but it didn’t happen.” Said Francis.

“I’ve now got about nine songs and we’ll collate the stuff in March, but it’ll probably be next September before anything is released.”

And of course there’ll be more touring, just not quite so much."

Revisit the November 2010 event list  

19th - "Statoz Quo" tribute band gig at Logan Diggers Club, Queensland, Australia

Queensland Quo tribute Statoz Quo joined forces with Perth's Slade tribute Almost Slayed for a British Rock Invasion Double Header at the Logan Diggers Club on November 19th. This show proved popular with the local crowd and Dave Coulson once again did the honours behind the camera and captured some great shots of both Statoz Quo and Almost Slayed in action.

Revisit the November 2010 event list  

20th - Quo concert at Colston Hall, Bristol

Bristol's Colston Hall played host to the Quo entourage on November 20th and professional photos of the band in action can be seen here, whilst some good quality fan photos are available here.

Revisit the November 2010 event list  

24th - Bob Young and Micky Moody interviewed on BBC Radio Surrey

Bob Young and Micky Moody were interviewed by Roger Day on BBC Radio Surrey on November 24th. The pair managed to talk for almost an hour and covered many topics of interest, including their recent anthology CD release as well as anecdotes from Bob's time with Quo.

Revisit the November 2010 event list  

27th - Quo concert at Bridlington Spa

Despite the poor weather conditions, Quo rolled into Bridlington on November 27th for yet another memorable show at the Spa. The fans turned out in force too despite terrible travelling conditions and, by all accounts, the Spa was the usual highlight show of the tour so far. A good set of photos of the band in action can be found here.

Revisit the November 2010 event list  

29th - Quo concert at Victoria Theatre, Halifax

Quo managed to get to Halifax for their gig at the Victoria Theatre on November 29th, but there was a much reduced crowd due to terrible weather and travel conditions in the area. Quo played well though and the crowd was responsive and warmly welcomed the band back to Halifax on this bitter cold night. "Don't Waste My Time" was surprisingly dropped at this gig. Photos of the band in action can be seen here.

Revisit the November 2010 event list  

undated - Quo-related content in Record Collector magazine (December issue)

The December issue of Record Collector magazine featured both a brief interview with Alan Lancaster as well as a favourable review of Francis's St Lukes solo show.

Revisit the November 2010 event list  

undated - Quo-related content in Classic Rock magazine (December issue)

The December issue of Classic Rock magazine featured a two-page review of the "Live at the BBC" releases and included a couple of quotes from each of the 'Frantic Four'.

Revisit the November 2010 event list